August 1, 2011

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 1 August 2011

    simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window....the sun is shining and it is already in the 70's out there.  I hope that we start our descent into typical New York State August weather.  The days are warm, but not muggy and the evenings and nights will start to be a little nippy.  Pretty soon we should be breaking out the hoodies and building bonfires for warmth as well as pleasure.

    I am thinking...that there is much to do and very little motivation to do it all.  Still I will plow forward.  Doug and I went to a day long retreat on Saturday and left feeling rested, refreshed and ready to continue on the journey toward salvation. (at least until the next time one of us fails)

    I am thankful for...the blessings of this weekend.  The grace and renewal of the retreat that we went on and the surprise of finding Adam at home when we got back Saturday evening.  Our quiver is almost full. 

    From the kitchen....I really don't know.  MK is baking cookies right now.  She and Melissa are talking about provisioning this family for yet another celebration.  Sunday family and friends will gather here to fete Matthew for completing high school.  It will be somewhat bittersweet for me.  My last child has graduated and will be moving forward into the world.  This party will be a celebration of another life launched and the end of homeschooling for this family and what better way to spend the day than with other homeschooling families.

    I am wearing....jammies yet.  Doug let me sleep in this morning so I am late getting up and late getting started. 

    I am creating...one of a kinds.  One of a kind people, one of a kind family and this week it will be one of a kind creations for sale.

    I am going...to take my camera for repair today.  I am not so adept with my camera phone.  I also need to do a photo shoot with a local family who has 8 daughters that will be modeling my creations.

    I am reading....Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad.  Another work that is on my summer reading list.

    I am hoping...that the camera shop doesn't take too long fixing my camera.  Maybe it is only a matter of a clean up.

    I am hearing...Matthew in the livingroom playing a game on the xbox.  Melissa and Mary-Kate are discussing food (no wonder I have trouble with my weight!), and Layn is playing with his tractors.  I have often wondered if little boys are born knowing how to make engine noises.  This little boy could make that sound from the first time he picked up a toy tractor.

    Around the house....it is lived in, loved in, and just plain comfortable. 

    One of my favorite things...listening to the deep rumbling sounds of the voices of my husband and sons as they talk.  I spent part of last night laying in my bed listening to the rumbles of their voices coming up the stairs.  What a comforting sound.

    A few plans for the rest of the week...photo shoot, trip to WalMart to stock up on dressing supplies for Matthew, swim classes and holy hours.  I have a couple of sewing orders to fill and some ideas to execute so I think my week will be full.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you....

    20110731084925

    Adam home for a couple of weeks!!!! Hooray.

     

    20110730213113

    Fireworks Saturday night in the town next to us.  I like to think that they staged them just to celebrate Adam's homecoming.

Comments (3)

  • Of course it was for his homecoming....what else could be so important??

    oh yeah,a belated Canada Day.

  • @Bricker59 - Happy belated Canada Day!!!!!! That makes those fireworks even more special. 

  • We have our hottest weather here in August but so far no happening.  Sounds like you are having a relaxing time.  Hope your camera is fixed soon.  i would be having withdrawals imy old sony quit working on me.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment