August 5, 2011

  • Layn’s first trip to the zoo

    DSC09175

    Today Layn and I took a trip to our local zoo.  I am a great lover of the zoo.  If the truth be known I am a great lover of anything that children like.  Being under the age of 2 I knew that this may be a bit premature for his first trip but I wanted to see his reaction.  (I also wanted an excuse to go visit the purple macaw and the elephants)   Part of the exhibit has a path leading to the tiger display.  There are signs that prompt the children to begin looking for clues that they are about to encounter the tigers.  The last clue is the piped in sounds of tigers roaring.  When Layn heard that roar for the first time his face lit up and he looked up at me as if he had discovered something truly spectacular.  Around the next bend in the path we came upon this cement statue of a tiger.  Layn wouldn’t sit on it but he sure enjoyed his turn to explore it.

    DSC09177

    Dear to his grandmother’s heart it was the elephant enclosure that captured his attention.  We literally spent 1 1/2 hours walking back and forth along the fence talking to the elephants and enjoying their antics.

    DSC09180

    Getting Layn off this little statue was a trick.  I think when we go back he will be going to visit some old friends.

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *