January 16, 2012

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 16 January 2012

    tdbsmall

    Outside my window…it is stinking cold! The weather service says zero and I believe it. It is cold enough to freeze the snot in your nose before it even tries to get out.We are supposed to get up to freezing but that will bring with it snow, sleet and freezing rain.  For those of you who wished for winter, thanks a lot.

    I am thinking…about becoming a hermit. You know the kind that only comes out in the spring after the temperatures come up to 80.  Or am I mistaking that for hibernate? Either way the idea is very attractive.  My toes are turning blue, wait that is the nail polish.  Ooops! my bad.

    I am thankful for….fleece blankets, homemade quilts, hoodies, and nice warm scarves.

    From the kitchen…something with beef.  How surprising since we just put 500 lbs of it in the freezer. I would do steaks on the grill (Ian just put new burners in it) but not if it means standing out there in the cold (I am not that nice or dedicated).  How about meatloaf!

    I am wearing….sweatpants, sweatshirt, wrapped in fleece and a quilt.  I am not joking it is cold out there and since this house is well ventilated it is drafty and cold in here.  The fire hasn’t caught up with the morning yet.

    I am creating…not a thing.  It seems my powers of creativity have been severely curtailed by my emotional state.  Until I can get past the constant grief and depression over my father’s death the sewing machine will essentially remain silent.

    I am going…to make a visit to the Blessed Sacrament but beyond that I think my courage will not extend to spending too much time out there in the arctic cold. (am I whining too much about how cold it is? Let it snow and then I will really get started.) Strike that I need to get my drivers license renewed today also. Since tomorrow is the 17th and my birthday as well it will expire and then I won’t be able to drive legally. Aw shucks!

    I am reading…The Collected Works of George MacDonald

    I am hoping…that the sleet and freezing rain holds off till after 6 tonight then all my people will be home from their respective jobs.

    I am hearing…Layn having a tantrum because someone isn’t giving him what he wants, go figure. I wonder what would happen if I had a tantrum? I’ll have to keep that thought on the back burner.

    Around the house….all is as it should be.  The kitchen is a disaster, the livingroom is somewhat behind that and the laundryroom has been declared a federal disaster area.  Status quo!

    One of my favorite things…a candle lit room and a good book.

    A few plans for the rest of the week….take MK to the neurologist tomorrow, two holy hours, take Layn to a make-up swim lesson, and otherwise survive this crazy life of mine.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you…

     

    DSC00011 DSC00010

    Last weekend we celebrated MK’s birthday.  Jonathan and Matthew wore the same shirts, something that we all got a big kick out of.

Comments (4)

  • It was cold here, but is supposed to warm up some and rain today.  My husband’s cousin has a PhD in English Lit.  He speciallized in Geo MacDonald.  He lives in PA now, got his degree in Scotland.  You could try becoming a hermit And hibernating, but I don’t think your family would let you.

  • @ata_grandma - Therein lies the rub!

    George MacDonald is an awsome author.  He and CS Lewis are on a par. (Lewis is one of my favorites)

  • I don’t think you’re whining too much about the cold. In fact, you’re not whining enough. Cold is evil. I don’t know why Hell is always depicted with fire. My vision of Hell is snowy, icy, windy and cold.

    I hope you had a great birthday filled with family, love and joy – warmth for the soul.

  • P.S. I can’t get the rec button to work, so I’m going to rec this comment. Happy Birthday!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *