August 22, 2011

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 22 August 2011

     simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window....it is dark and raining.  Looks like a good day to stay inside and get inside things done.  My sister and five of her children are here visiting so it is a good day to spend together.

    I am thinking...about sleeping.  My son the Big Dude would say that sleeping is over-rated. Of course he has never required much in the way of down time.  I never spent too much time sleeping either when I was younger.  I find though that now as age creeps up on me sleep is becoming a commodity that I value. 

    I am thankful for...true and loyal friends. Friends who roll not only with their own punches but yours as well.  Friends who take it on the chin when you check out of life for a while just like you would if they did. I trust that that was understandable.

    From the kitchen....there will be much deliciousness I just have no clue what form it may be taking.

    I am wearing...jammies. Layn decided to wake anyone in the range of his voice far too early this morning. Since grandma is a light sleeper I was the respondant.

    I am creating....fun times and happy memories.

    I am going...to do my best to accomplish all that is on the menu for today.  The first thing will be to take Matthew to work this morning. Today is his first day back since his surgery.

    I am reading....still working on The Dirty Life.

    I am hoping...that my husband has work today in spite of the rain that is falling out there. Lately his hours have been drastically curtailed whenever it has rained. That is not a good thing.

    I am hearing...the sound of raindrops tapping on the stones in front of the house, the fans in the basement, and the pump running.  With the window open I hear the peepers finishing their  nighttime song as the sun begins to peek above the horizon.

    Around the house...the place is spic and span.  Friday and Saturday MK and I cleaned this house from atic to cellar and then some.  Not one speck of dust remains. 

    One of my favorite things....the sounds of the peepers.  In the spring my husband and I take drives in the early evening so that we can catch their first songs of the season.  In the fall we mark the last time that we can hear them sing before they are all tucked away for their winter sleep.

    A few plans for the rest of the week...time spent with my sister.

    Here is a picture thought that I am spending with you....

    DSC09235

    Ian and Layn driving the tractor for a hay ride.  On the wagon is Matthew, Brett, and MK the normal residents.  With them are John, William, Thomas, Jeremiah, and Celine.  My sister is taking a photo also and my husband hasn't gotten on yet.  Melissa opted to stay home.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *