December 19, 2011

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 19 December 2011

     tdbsmall

    Outside my window…the sun is shining and I suspect that it is cold out there since the snow hasn’t melted. The forecast is for warmer temps today but clear skys and sun.

    I am thinking…about snotty noses and chapped faces.  It has been many years since we have had either of those in this house.  I need to reach back into my memory and remember what was in my arsenal of palliatives for both.

    I am thankful for…quiet times and family gathered all around.  Mornings such as this one spent with two of my children simply sitting and enjoying each other’s company.

    From the kitchen….there are lots of leftovers from the weekend.  I cooked both on Saturday and Sunday so there is plenty of food to get us to tomorrow.

    I am wearing…long johns and a sleep shirt.

    I am creating…the last of the Christmas gifts.

    I am going…to be staying home.  My car is in the shop getting some much needed work on the transmission and the brakes so I will be here in my nice warm cozy and welcoming home.

    I am reading…Charles Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol” This is a yearly thing for me.  It is my favorite story, movie, and well of personal and moral insperation.

    I am hoping…that the Big Dude has good weather and safe travels for his trip home tonight.

    I am hearing…Melissa and Layn upstairs doing something in her room.  I love the way that Layn chatters.  MK is in the kitchen making herself some toast and Matthew is muttering over something on the computer.

    Around the house…all is status quo.  There are toys scattered around the livingroom floor and Layn’s blankie sits abandoned.  The remnants of Ian and Doug’s breakfast sit on the kitchen table waiting for me to rouse myself to clean up.  The sewing room is neat and clean! (only because I didn’t use it this weekend).

    One of my favorite things…the utter normalcy of the scene in this house and yet there are some normals that may seem a bit odd to others.  Yesterday afternoon is a good example.  Picture me baking a cake in the kitche while Matthew cleans his rifle on the table and Brett and their friend Emily watch an episode of “Good Eats” on the laptop.  While all this is going on Layn is running back and forth entertaining everyone.  Normal for us but not so normal for others.

    A few plans for the rest of the week…greet the arrival of the Big Dude with all the love and boisterousness that this family can muster tonight.  I don’t have a fatter calf to kill but there are a couple of chickens that I have my eyes on.  Have to finish up a couple of final gifts and get them wrapped and we have to procure a tree.  Then we will let the celebrating commence.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you…

    DSC09868

    Take the camera out and the little ham is ready for a photo shoot.  Poor guy is sensitive to tomatoes and he ate a couple with dinner last night.  The rash doesn’t seem to bother him though.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *