August 15, 2011

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 15 August 2011

     simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window…there is a lowering sky hanging over the fields.  The humidity is still high but the temperatures have moderated some.  Last night we actually got down into the lower 60′s.  The world has a brooding quality about it this morning.  It seems to me to be a perfect day to sit in my rocker and finish the pile of hand-sewing that I have to do.  Maybe I will even get the basket of ironing out of the way. 

    I am thinking…about recipes for homemade spray starch.  My husband, wonderful man that he is, figured out why I always get sick after ironing using the spray starch that comes from the store; it has formaldahyde in it.  So I have been researching online for alternatives.  The only purchased alternative costs 5 times what the regular stuff costs.  A friend suggested sizing instead so I am going to experiment with that too.

    I am thankful for….the chance to witness my adult children morphing into the kind of people that my husband and I have always prayed that they would be.  I am also thankful for the way that they accept each other’s friends and future spouses.  Adam and Melissa interact as if they were blood brother and sister.  It is very gratifying to witness their friendship growing and know that my sons approve of the choices that their siblings make.

    From the kitchen….who knows.  Maybe chicken will be on the menu.  Saturday 25 of our 48 meat birds were butchered and packed into the freezer.  It feels good to be filling that up in preparation for the cold weather that is inevitable around here.

    I am wearing….a white tee shirt and navy shorts. 

    I am creating….many various and sundry things.  Yesterday I cut out some all in one diapers to experiment with.  Layn will once again be my guinea pig.  If these look good and work well I plan on entering into the cloth diaper making business.

    I am going…perhaps to The Commons to do a little shopping today and definitely to mass this evening to celebrate the Feast of the Assumption of Our Lady into heaven.

    I am reading…The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball.  This book is an excellent read and I highly recommend it.

    I am hoping….to get plenty done today.

    I am hearing….Savannah fussing in the kitchen, Melissa giving Alex some kind of direction (he needs a lot of that), and the soft click of Isabella’s nails on the bare floor in the sewing room.

    Around the house….everyone is going about their usual morning business.  Melissa, wonderful woman that she is, is making a fresh pot of coffee.  Jason and Kim are in the kitchen doing I don’t know what.  Matthew is upstairs in my room taking a nap.  He over-did it both Friday and Saturday and now needs to let his body rest and heal. 

    One of my favorite things…is peace and quiet. Another is the growing pile of completed articles for sale.  I now have two rubbermaid tubs full of things for sale.  Now I just have to take pictures and post them.

    A few plans for the rest of the week…sew, read, enjoy my family, and just generally live life.  Alex leaves to back to NC on Thursday and hopefully my sister and some of her offspring will be arriving.  Adam also plans on commencing his cross country drive later this week.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you….

    DSC09218

    Layn modeling the new bibs that I am making.

     

Comments (9)

  • And such a handsome model!

    What size of freezer do you use?

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - We have a large chest freezer (I don’t know how big it is) and an upright freezer.  I think this fall we are going to invest in another chest freezer.  Ian has a beefer set aside for us and we need pork too.  Then there are vegetables to get in there as well.

  • Where do these item for sale get posted? Message me the link for them. PLEEAASSEE.

  • @perelandra30 - I keep thinking I would like an upright freezer, but have yet to make the move.Anything you don’t like about using an upright?

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - I would never have an upright again. When this one goes it won’t be replaced.  If the door gets left open you are sunk. Everything goes bad and you can potentially lose all of your food.  With a chest freezer you might lose a few things on top, depending on how full it is, if the top gets left open.  The downside of a chest, as you probably know, is that organization is difficult.  I am willing to sacrifice organization since my men have been known to leave the lid open on occasion.

  • I wish they would make an upright with shelves that slant down at the back so frozen items wouldn’t fall out on one’s toes.  We have a small chest freezer now.
    That is one happy boy in that picture!

  • @perelandra30 - That’s what I was thinking, easier access and organization.  But, I understand, sometimes you have to sacrifice convenience for practical!  Gotta love the menfolk~ My fear is the ranch gates being left open.
     

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - Can’t live with them etc!!!!! The only alternative with an upright is a good padlock.

  • @perelandra30 - hahaha, yes!  I used to have to lock our school lunch pantry when the kids were younger. But, one of my sons had figured out how to maneuver his arm in there and reach the sun chips. 

    When we had our septic tank serviced, the plumber found empty bags of sun chips backing it up. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *