Month: August 2011

  • The big dude!!!!

    296857_10150344832252090_505172089_9633549_4966144_n

    He’s pretending he’s a doctor.

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 29 August 2011

    simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window….the sun is shining brightly the temperature is 50 degrees and it is a glorious late August day here in the neighborhood.  The air smells as if it was all washed clean.  I woke up in the night last night and knew that all the allergens had been scrubbed out of the air by the rain yesterday and the wind that followed it last night.  This morning the pleasure of being able to take long deep lungs full of cool crisp clean air is beyond imaginable.

    I am thinking…about the freshness of the laundry that will come in off the lines today, the snap of the beans that will come out of the field, and the greenness of everything that has been renewed by the storm that passed through yesterday.

    I am thankful for….the ability to see and appreciate the good that can come from something that should have been so bad.  I truly believe that there is always a renewal even in devastation.  Like the phoenix which rises from the ashes, mankind must learn to rise above the material loss of something like a hurricane or earthquake and find a new beginning.

    From the kitchen….everything waits for some type of culinary magic to be wrought with the tools and utensils that are stored there. In other words, I haven’t a clue what is for supper tonight.

    I am wearing…navy sweats and a white tee

    I am creating…cloth diapers for Layn. Each one is a labor of love!

    I am going…nowhere!!!!! Matthew took my car to work and Doug rode his bike (the blazer is DOA). 

    I am reading…The Scarlet Letter by Nathanial Hawthorne. The last of my summer reading list. Just in time for school to start a week from today.

    I am hoping….that the pile of diapers that I cut out shrinks of its own volition today.  I am working on a work of art for someone else’s child and I would much prefer to concentrate on that.

    I am hearing…the washer spinning out its first load of the day, the dishwasher working on its first load, Alan Jackson singing “Are You Washed in the Blood,” and the birds singing outside of my window.

    Around the house….morning chores have been divided up, the kitchen is done and the laundry is started. It is a typical Monday in this little house.  Time to start the second pot of coffee and really start the business of the day.

    One of my favorite things…drinking in the sensation of stacks of fabric in various colors and textures.  I am planning Mary-Kate’s quilt.  There are piles of different colors and prints scattered about the sewing room.  Each pile invites me to touch, smell, and revel in the harmony and disharmony that the palate suggests.  Soon I will have to settle on a selection to cut and sew together but for now I will luxuriate in the choices that I have.

    A few plans for the rest of the week….I am down to the wire as far as sewing projects are concerned.  The piles of cut out projects must be sewn up and placed in boxes to be sold.  I have to solve the camera dilemma so that pictures can be taken and posted.  My desk has to be cleaned off and the piles on it have to be sorted and filed.  Meals for the coming week have to be planned and as far as I can food has to be purchased.  The rest of the corn and beans have to be put into the freezer.  Along with these few things I have my normal round of chores and activities to accomplish. 

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you….

    DSC09233

    Layn figured that Auntie Kake had her hands full and needed help feeding Savannah.

  • Irene update

    1288

    Rains are still heavy and the wind is starting to pick up as the storm center passes us by.  The phase of this storm that those of us in Central New York will have to be concerned with is the back lash.  The wrap around winds will be stronger and will bring with them lake effect rain.  That rain after the initial rain that we are experiencing now brings with it the risk of flash flooding.  Fortunately I live on the side of a valley that is 14 feet deep.  The water tends to flow down into the valley and the creek carries it away.

  • So, this is Irene.

    1288

    No wind as yet but plenty of rain.

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 22 August 2011

     simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window….it is dark and raining.  Looks like a good day to stay inside and get inside things done.  My sister and five of her children are here visiting so it is a good day to spend together.

    I am thinking…about sleeping.  My son the Big Dude would say that sleeping is over-rated. Of course he has never required much in the way of down time.  I never spent too much time sleeping either when I was younger.  I find though that now as age creeps up on me sleep is becoming a commodity that I value. 

    I am thankful for…true and loyal friends. Friends who roll not only with their own punches but yours as well.  Friends who take it on the chin when you check out of life for a while just like you would if they did. I trust that that was understandable.

    From the kitchen….there will be much deliciousness I just have no clue what form it may be taking.

    I am wearing…jammies. Layn decided to wake anyone in the range of his voice far too early this morning. Since grandma is a light sleeper I was the respondant.

    I am creating….fun times and happy memories.

    I am going…to do my best to accomplish all that is on the menu for today.  The first thing will be to take Matthew to work this morning. Today is his first day back since his surgery.

    I am reading….still working on The Dirty Life.

    I am hoping…that my husband has work today in spite of the rain that is falling out there. Lately his hours have been drastically curtailed whenever it has rained. That is not a good thing.

    I am hearing…the sound of raindrops tapping on the stones in front of the house, the fans in the basement, and the pump running.  With the window open I hear the peepers finishing their  nighttime song as the sun begins to peek above the horizon.

    Around the house…the place is spic and span.  Friday and Saturday MK and I cleaned this house from atic to cellar and then some.  Not one speck of dust remains. 

    One of my favorite things….the sounds of the peepers.  In the spring my husband and I take drives in the early evening so that we can catch their first songs of the season.  In the fall we mark the last time that we can hear them sing before they are all tucked away for their winter sleep.

    A few plans for the rest of the week…time spent with my sister.

    Here is a picture thought that I am spending with you….

    DSC09235

    Ian and Layn driving the tractor for a hay ride.  On the wagon is Matthew, Brett, and MK the normal residents.  With them are John, William, Thomas, Jeremiah, and Celine.  My sister is taking a photo also and my husband hasn’t gotten on yet.  Melissa opted to stay home.

  • I swiped this photo from FB

    300157_10150336810602090_505172089_9549587_2722680_n

    The Big Dude    His vicitm patient   and his friend Steve

    The Big Dude is on rotation in AZ and I am terribly proud of the work that he is doing.

     

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 15 August 2011

     simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window…there is a lowering sky hanging over the fields.  The humidity is still high but the temperatures have moderated some.  Last night we actually got down into the lower 60′s.  The world has a brooding quality about it this morning.  It seems to me to be a perfect day to sit in my rocker and finish the pile of hand-sewing that I have to do.  Maybe I will even get the basket of ironing out of the way. 

    I am thinking…about recipes for homemade spray starch.  My husband, wonderful man that he is, figured out why I always get sick after ironing using the spray starch that comes from the store; it has formaldahyde in it.  So I have been researching online for alternatives.  The only purchased alternative costs 5 times what the regular stuff costs.  A friend suggested sizing instead so I am going to experiment with that too.

    I am thankful for….the chance to witness my adult children morphing into the kind of people that my husband and I have always prayed that they would be.  I am also thankful for the way that they accept each other’s friends and future spouses.  Adam and Melissa interact as if they were blood brother and sister.  It is very gratifying to witness their friendship growing and know that my sons approve of the choices that their siblings make.

    From the kitchen….who knows.  Maybe chicken will be on the menu.  Saturday 25 of our 48 meat birds were butchered and packed into the freezer.  It feels good to be filling that up in preparation for the cold weather that is inevitable around here.

    I am wearing….a white tee shirt and navy shorts. 

    I am creating….many various and sundry things.  Yesterday I cut out some all in one diapers to experiment with.  Layn will once again be my guinea pig.  If these look good and work well I plan on entering into the cloth diaper making business.

    I am going…perhaps to The Commons to do a little shopping today and definitely to mass this evening to celebrate the Feast of the Assumption of Our Lady into heaven.

    I am reading…The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball.  This book is an excellent read and I highly recommend it.

    I am hoping….to get plenty done today.

    I am hearing….Savannah fussing in the kitchen, Melissa giving Alex some kind of direction (he needs a lot of that), and the soft click of Isabella’s nails on the bare floor in the sewing room.

    Around the house….everyone is going about their usual morning business.  Melissa, wonderful woman that she is, is making a fresh pot of coffee.  Jason and Kim are in the kitchen doing I don’t know what.  Matthew is upstairs in my room taking a nap.  He over-did it both Friday and Saturday and now needs to let his body rest and heal. 

    One of my favorite things…is peace and quiet. Another is the growing pile of completed articles for sale.  I now have two rubbermaid tubs full of things for sale.  Now I just have to take pictures and post them.

    A few plans for the rest of the week…sew, read, enjoy my family, and just generally live life.  Alex leaves to back to NC on Thursday and hopefully my sister and some of her offspring will be arriving.  Adam also plans on commencing his cross country drive later this week.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you….

    DSC09218

    Layn modeling the new bibs that I am making.