Month: March 2011

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 28 March 2011

     simple-woman-daybook-small

    Outside my window....the world hasn't been clued into the calendar yet.  The temp is 18, not very springlike, but the sun is shining valiantly and the birds that were dumb enough to come back this early are singing in the trees.

    I am thinking....about my son the vulture sitting here waiting to use my laptop before I pack it up.  Actually I am thinking about the conflict between being excited about going somewhere and not wanting to leave your loved ones.

    I am thankful for....my dear friend Mary who is taking me to NYC this week.  What a welcome break after a long semester of school and a rather trying week.

    From the schoolroom....MK will be hard at it learning and furthering her education while Matthew will attempt to finish his Physics book this week.

    From the kitchen....I don't know.  Melissa and MK are in charge and I am confident that my people will be eating very well in my absence.

    I am wearing....jammies, but that is going to change very soon. 

    I am creating....memories.

    I am going....to spend a couple of days in NYC!  I have hired myself out to be a traveling companion for my friend and we will hit the Big Apple with everything that we have.  I plan on leaving a wake of broken hearts when I'm through.

    I am reading....Walden by Henry David Thoreau

    I am hoping....that everyone at home is happy and content without me.

    I am hearing...the sound of my husband taking up the tiles in the downstairs bathroom, Matthew whistling a silly tune while he waits for me to finish, and Layn talking to himself while he eats his breakfast.

    Around the house....everything is as it should be which fills my heart with a wonderful sense of peace and contentment.

    One of my favorite things....being pleased and surprised when my husband asks me out to dinner and a movie.

    A few plans for the rest of the week....the trip to the City and then back home to create.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you....

    new_york_skyline2

    Start spreading the news......

  • The Catholic solemnity that Christians can't live without

    Annunciation

    The angel of the Lord declared unto Mary.

    And she conceived of the Holy Spirit.

    Behold the handmaid of the Lord.

    Be it done unto me according to thy word.

    And the Word was made flesh.

    And dwelt among us.

    Pray for us, O holy Mother of God.

    That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.  Let us pray:

    Pour forth, we beseech thee, O Lord, thy grace into our hearts; that, we to whom the incarnation of Christ, thy Son, was made known by the message of an angel, may by his passion and cross, be brought to the glory of his resurrection, through the same Christ our Lord. AMEN.

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 21 March 2011

     tdbsmall

    Outside my window....there is a combination of rain and snow coming down from the sky.  I am thinking about making a large sign so that the elements can be properly informed that it is now Spring and amend the weather situation.  By the way the thermometer says that it is 36.  That is going to need tweaking too.

    I am thinking...since Melissa came I have come to know what it is like to have two daughters in the house.  (Translate two females!!!!!) Actually it is so nice I wish it had happened sooner.

    I am thankful for....the beautiful Spring-like weather that we had last week. 

    From the schoolroom....finals week for me!!!!! Matthew and MK will continue to grind along.

    From the kitchen....pork roast, mashed sweet potatoes, and vegetables for supper.

    I am wearing...a long flannel nightgown.

    I am creating...a thing of beauty and a joy forever. (I have always loved that phrase)

    I am going....to stay home and work on my finals today.

    I am reading....Thomas Aquinas' summa gentilis

    I am hoping....to slow time just a little bit.

    I am hearing....MK and Melissa making plans for their day, Layn playing with his Woody doll, and the clicking of Isabella's nails on the hardwood floors.

    Around the house...everything is status quo.  We seem to have taken in another underdog.  Mary-Kate's sow had piglets yesterday.  The runt is extremely runty and it is now residing in a box next to the wood stove.  Welcome to the home of the unwanted, unloved, disadvataged, disenchanted, and otherwise homeless.  Pull up a banana box and make yourself at home.

    One of my favorite things...is the very quality of my family that makes each one of them inclined to take in those who are in need.  Without that quality we wouldn't have Melissa and Layn here or have met and cared for all those who have been through this house in the past 28 years.

    A few plans for the rest of the week...get through finals, finish the sewing projects that are piled up around my machine, start some others, and otherwise continue in the business of living my life.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you.... 

    DSC07788

    This is what life is all about.  Layn helping his mom bottle feed the piglet.

  • An outfit for every occasion

    Some kids were just meant to be fashionable, it's just written in the stars.  Layn is one of those kids.  Recently a friend gave us enough clothing from her son to outfit Layn until he is in size 5 (we can't thank you enough Diane!).  His current outfit is one chosen to wear at the Y for his swimming lessons.  His friend Brett is the lifeguard there, so Layn wants to be right in step with his buddy.

    DSC07726

    Of course once Layn is on the scene Brett's chance of attracting any of the female lifeguards is shot.

  • Budding artist

    DSC07596 DSC07595

    Where was aqua doodle when my kids were little?

  • Let's see what's for dinner

    DSC07720

    This is good stuff.  Black beans, tomatoes, lettuce, and sour cream.

    DSC07721

    Chicken too!!!

    DSC07722

    This stuff is great!!!!