February 13, 2012

  • The Simple Womans Daybook 13 February 2012

     tdbsmall

    Outside my window….old man winter decided to rear his ugly head last night. We woke up this morning to 4 or 5 inches of snow that fell last night.  Temps are in the 20′s with a stiff west wind that drops the windchill below 0.  It is a good day to sit inside and do what needs to be done.  There will certainly be no pull of the weather calling me outside like there was last week.

    I am thinking….about this mornings reading from Mother Theresa.  She talks about temptation being the fire that purifies us like gold in the furnace.  Lately I have not been trying too hard to resist those little temptations to imperfection and mediocrity that have come my way.  I need to head out to confession and make a new start turning my back on my moods and errant emotions.

    I am thankful for….a husband who stands firm when firmness is called for.  I thank God for him every day.

    From the kitchen….there is plenty of leftover beef stroganoff from yesterday to satisfy this crowd.

    I am wearing….green tee shirt and sweat pants. 

    I am creating….completed school assignments.

    I am going…to stay home all day until Matthew needs to report to the recruiter this afternoon. 

    I am reading…Danial Deronda by George Eliot

    I am hoping…to get the bulk of my writing done early this week so that I can work on some other projects.

    I am hearing…Layn climbing the stairs to take his first nap of the day, the sound of the windchimes out front that hang under the eaves of the house blowing in the wind, and Isabella trying to find a comfortable place to lay down here in the sewing room.

    Around the house….things are neat and clean and in full Monday morning swing.  We have to be quieter than usual today though. Ian is sleeping because he had to be out plowing all night last night.

    One of my favorite things…having virtual coffee and conversation with my online friends.

    A few plans for the rest of the week….school, holy hour, doctor’s appointments, and more school.

    Here is a picture thought that I am sharing with you….

    DSC00066

    This boy is often the only reason to get up in the morning!  Time to bust out of that malaise and get back on my own road again.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *